At the Annual General Meeting of the Nigerian Bar Association Section on Business Law on Thursday 25th August 2022, the Section inaugurated a new council. The Council, chaired by Dr. Adeoye Adefulu, includes, Aisha Remi (Vice Chair), Babasola Alokolaro (Secretary), Adeleke Alex-Adedipe (Assistant Secretary), Ayoyinka Olajide-Awosedo (Treasurer), Oyeyemi Aderibigbe (Financial Secretary) Kehinde Daodu, Chinasa Unaegbunam, Perenami Momodu, Funmilayo Otsemobor & Stella Duru.

Dr. Adeoye Adefulu (New Chairman of NBA-SBL), giving his inaugural speech at the 2022 SBL-AGM

The new Council Chair, Dr Adefulu expressed his plans for the next two years in a mathematical formula: (two times I divided by S). Where the first I represents Impact, the second I represents Influence and S represents Sustainability. He noted the Council’s mission to improve members’ lives by fostering opportunities for professional growth, which would be assessed through training, mentorship, networking, volunteerism, and giving access to the resources required to provide high-quality legal services. Regarding influence, the new Chairman stated that the Council would strive to increase the SBL’s influence over the business climate. This influence would be assessed based on the quantity and quality of its partnerships with the private sector, advocacy efforts with regulators, national and state assemblies, and the executive. He also said that these activities will be governed by the principle of sustainability, with each action being carried out in a way to ensure that good practices survive the current leaders of the organisation.

In his valedictory speech, the Immediate Past Chairman, Mr. Ayuli Jemide encouraged the new Council to carry on the torch. Quoting Albert Einstein, he closed his speech by stating: “Life is like riding a bicycle, to preserve your balance, you have to keep moving.”

The 2022 Annual General Meeting also saw the inauguration of 6 former Chairpersons – Mr. George Etomi, Mrs. Mfon Usoro, Mr. Gbenga Oyebode MFR, Mr. Asue Ighodalo, Mr. Olumide Akpata, Mr Seni Adio SAN and past Council member, Mrs Myma Belo-Osagie as Honorary Life members of the Section.


Registration Closed

The event you are trying to register for is no longer available for registration. To see current events of the Section, please use the button below.